home‎ > ‎無題‎ > ‎

Researches on Superresolution Microscopy have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2014

posted Oct 8, 2014, 5:46 PM by iwasaki@parc.osaka-u.ac.jp   [ updated Oct 8, 2014, 9:08 PM ]
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2014 to
Eric Betzig: Janelia Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Ashburn, VA, USA,
Stefan W. Hell: Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, and German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany,
William E. Moerner: Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA.
“for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”

Surpassing the limitations of the light microscope
For a long time optical microscopy was held back by a presumed limitation: that it would never obtain a better resolution than half the wavelength of light. Helped by fluorescent molecules the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry 2014 ingeniously circumvented this limitation. Their ground-breaking work has brought optical microscopy into the nanodimension.

 Researches on Superresolution Microscopy and Innovations at PARC are as follows;